One Goal Down, One Million to Go…. Thoughts From my Weekend Half…

This weekend, I had the chance to run the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Columbus Half Marathon. I was originally upset with my time. This was my second half so I’m in no way an experienced runner, I do it for the love of the run. But as I thought of all the excuses as to why my run was not as expected (I dressed too warm, my knee is still healing and so forth), it struck me that it did not matter. I did it. I accomplished my goal. If the goal wasn’t up to my expectations, that is my job to make it better… and I will…. I am going to work to make my next run better.

Along the route there are stations of children, their friends and family cheering all of the runners on. They have signs that said “Thank You for Running” for their child. These children are a true inspiration. I am honored and humbled to have been out there for them. To share my energy and excitement with the thousands of bystanders, was also a reminder from one of my favorite reads:

Regina Brett, Lesson 40: “If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back.” I am thankful I could run this race. I am honored I could share this experience with so many. Running, to me, is a personal goal. Where I am today, compared to yesterday, last week and even last year. There are always setbacks, but that is ok.  Life throws every single one of us curve balls. How we use them (and this is something I’ve learned with age and experience, it wasn’t always there) is what makes life enriching, exciting and totally worth putting ourselves out there. It isn’t always easy, but it is always worth it.

Source: One Goal Down, One Million to Go…. Thoughts From my Weekend Half…

Posted by

For nearly a decade, Generous Gems has been assisting clients with finding just the right way to show they care. From the birth of a new child to a special birthday, or 50th anniversary, we have an extensive collection of fine jewelry ranging from colored diamonds to gold and silver charms. With new styles added frequently, we welcome new clients and look forward to helping them for years to come.

Leave a Reply

